Road to Research: Mr. Koustubh Phalak

Profile_Pic

Mr. Koustubh Phalak, B.E. EEE from 2016 batch, is a Ph.D. program admit in the rapid-growing field of Quantum Computing from the Pennsylvania State University, USA. We talk about his journey from BITS to one of the most prestigious Ph.D. programs, and the message he would like to convey to the research-oriented youth of our college.

Q-1: What are your plans for the Ph.D. program? How did the ongoing pandemic affect them?
A-1: I was supposed to get to the States by Fall 2020, and start with the coursework right away. However, due to the COVID-19 crisis, I’ll be deferring my admission to Spring 2021. The beauty of QC (Quantum Computing) is that my research work will continue remotely, unhindered. I’d like to complete my Ph.D. in 3.5-4 years preferably.

Q-2: How would you explain the idea of Quantum Computing to the common man?
A-2: Well, let me explain it using the simplest possible example. Consider tossing a coin. When it’s tossed, it spins, and then it gets the output as either Heads or Tails, that’s a classical computer for you. But when it’s in the spinning state, you don’t know the output. It can either be Heads or Tails. That’s a Quantum Computer for you. To be precise, the definite Heads/Tails state represents the binary states of 1 and 0 as we have in classical computers, and the indefinite spinning state is what we like to call Quantum Superposition of such states in the field of QC.

Q-3: What do you think makes Quantum Computing special? How would the world benefit from it?
A-3: In my opinion, it’s the ability of quantum computers to work on critical problems efficiently, which classical computers cannot solve. To give a practical example, Shor’s factorization algorithm for finding the prime factors of a number works only on a Quantum computer, and is very critical in the field of Cryptographic encryption. Quantum Computing is a relatively new and unexplored field, and it possesses great potential.

Q-4: What motivated you to step out of your branch and get into Quantum Computing?
A-4: To be honest, I’ve always preferred the field of Machine Learning over core electronics, because the field of Data Science is constantly evolving. Quantum Computing and Machine learning merge into ‘Quantum Machine Learning’. I’ve been fascinated by QC since day 1. I am still in the learning phases right now, but from what I’ve learned so far, it’s amazing.

Q-5: For those who wish to pursue a career in Quantum Computing, do you have any pointers on how one can prepare for the same?
A-5: I started QC using Microsoft’s official documentation for Quantum Computing. I’d suggest the same for all those who are interested. Both, the basics and the advanced topics, are covered. After the basics are done, the next step is to get an experience on the actual tools for Quantum Computing. For that, I’d say that Microsoft’s Q# and IBM Q  Experience are the best ones out there. One can also try watching YouTube videos and try implementing various projects using these tools. That’ll help them get comfortable with the basics. One needs a deep knowledge of Quantum Mechanics as well, so taking it up as an open elective might help too.

Q-6: How did you go about building your CV for your PhD application?
A-6: Well, I think that the most important factor required for a PhD is your interest to work hard, and relevant research experience. For the same, one can do DOP/LOP/SOP formal projects on campus, so that it is visible in your transcripts at the time of applying. Then, the usual procedure would be to first contact the professors with whom you share common research interests. The next step is to give the English Proficiency Exams, namely GRE, IELTS, or TOEFL. After that, you start filling applications on university websites, and pay the fees for the application and for sending the proficiency test scores to the university. Make sure you get at least 3 LORs and write a good SOP. And then all you can do is patiently wait for the admits.

Q-7: Who have been the most influential people in your life?
A-7: I think it would be my mother. I really can’t think of anybody else. She held our family together during testing times. She is largely responsible for consistently encouraging me to continue my education, not stopping it for anything in the world, in spite of being financially hampered at the time. To say with all my love that I have for her, she was the one behind whatever I have achieved so far and truly can’t thank her enough for that.

Q-8: What role has BITS played in your life after graduation?
A-8: As my undergrad progressed in BITS, I got to learn a lot of new and amazing things in the field of Electronics. But, most importantly the real deal was meeting a lot of talented professors here at BITS, along with a lot of supportive friends. These connections and networks made in college helped me make my career stronger, which wouldn’t have been possible on my own.

Q-9: What would you like to say to your juniors here at BPHC?
A-9:  I’d like to quote Dr. Alan Turing’s words: “Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things that no one can imagine.” It is completely fine if you are a nobody today and if you are failing. What truly matters is whether you quit when everything turns south on you or you decide to face it with all your guts, and try relentlessly towards it making it work.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started